Renaissance Dental Center Proudly Services all of Greater Raleigh!

Raleigh has been providing services to all of Raleigh and it’s surrounding areas for nearly 10 years. If you or your loved ones are living in Raleigh or in the Greater Raleigh Metro area consider Renaissance for your dental needs today. Contact us at (919)786-6766 to schedule your appointment today.

Raleigh is the capital of North Carolina and the seat of Wake County. Known as the “City of Oaks” for its many oak trees, the city covers just over 142 square miles.
The city is named after the famous settler who started the lost Roanoke Colony, Sir Walter Raleigh.

Raleigh is part of the Research Triangle area and the home of North Carolina State University. The Research Triangle area also includes Chapel Hill, home of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Durham, the home of Duke University. In 1788, following the American Revolutionary War, the area where it is now located was picked to be the location for the NC capital.

Raleigh is home to a number of educational, cultural, and historic sites. These include:

Raleigh is also home to Shaw University, the first historically black university in the established in the South. U.S. president Andrew Johnson was born in Raleigh.


In June 2003, the U.S. Office of Management and Budget redefined all Federal statistical areas. This redefinition resulted in the formation of the Raleigh-Cary, NC, and the Durham-Chapel Hill, NC Metro Areas.

Research Triangle Park

Located in Durham and Wake counties, the triangle is comprised of three cities and their universities. It is one of the largest research parks found across the entire globe and is named for the three hub cities and attached universities of Durham/Duke University, Raleigh/NC State University, and Chapel Hill/University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Research Triangle region was given its name as an extension of the name of the park.


The town of Apex got its name by being the highest point along the Chatham Railroad. Incorporated in 1873 Apex grew slowly over time, despite several setbacks as the result of a number of devastating fires. Apex attractions include:

  • All Booked Up
  • Antiques on Salem Street
  • Apex Farmers Market
  • Apex Jazz Festival
  • Beaver Creek Commons/Crossing
  • Halle Cultural Arts Center
  • Knights Play Golf Center
  • North Carolina Railroad Museum & New Hope Valley Railway
  • Peak City Grill & Bar

Wake Forest

Before moving to Winston-Salem in 1956, Wake Forest was the original home of Wake Forest University for 122 years. In 1832 Dr. Calvin Jones purchased 615 acres of land in Wake County to begin a farm. Because of its heavily forested environment, the area soon picked up the nickname Wake Forest.

Wake Forest University began as the Wake Forest Manual Labor Institute. It was founded on the property by the North Carolina Baptist Convention upon purchasing the land from Jones. This institute later dropped the “Manual Labor Institute” and added “College.” When the railroad company Raleigh & Gaston built a depot nearby, this addition helped accelerate the growth of the school and area towns.

In 1874, College leaders were able to convince railroad officials to move closer to the college, improving its development even further. In 1880 the community that had built up around the college was incorporated as Wake Forest College, the Town of. It finally was changed to its current name when the word “college” was dropped in

The Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary started offering coursework on parts of the campus in 1950, taking over the entire campus in 1956 when the now University moved to Winston-Salem.


Garner was first established as the village of Garner’s Station but had its charter repealed in 1891. The charter was reinstated in 1905 as the Town of Garner.
There are three areas of Garner that are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. These are:

  • Edenwood
  • The Downtown Garner Historic District
  • The Meadowbrook Country Club

Oak Grove

Originally part of Wake County, Oak Grove is one of the original townships of what is now known as Durham County. It later consisted of the communities of Gorman and Oak Grove. Throughout the 19th century, it was primarily known as a region of scattered farms and small private schools.


Morrisville is named for Jeremiah Morris, who donated land to the North Carolina Railroad for development of a water tower, depot, and other structures. The addition of the rail line allowed the town to continue to grow. Officially chartered in 1875, it was de-incorporated in 1933 but eventually got the charter restored in 1947.

Currently, Lenovo is one of the larger employers servicing the area, but other computer technology, telecommunications, and clinical trial companies also have a strong

Holly Springs

Holly Springs has gained most of its growth just at the end of the 20th century. This period began as a result of building its first sewage plant in 1987. Then the real boom began in 1992 when it started to receive more residents moving out from the Cary and Apex areas.

The growth rate continued to increase rapidly, increasing the population from 900 in 1992 to an estimated 6000 in 1998. In 2010 the population had reached almost 25,000. A cultural arts facility and the Holly Springs Community Library opened in early December 2006.

In 2007, ranked Holly Springs the 22nd best small town to live in. There are several locations listed on the National Register of Historic Places. They

  • Leslie-Alford- Mims House
  • The Holly Springs Masonic Lodge
  • The Harrington-Dewar House


Clayton was originally named Stallings’ Station, for the North Carolina Railroad depot established inside the home of Mrs. Sarah Stallings. Clayton was incorporated in 1869 but stayed relatively unchanged from its humble beginnings until the 1970s.

Growth began to take place when a more industrial environment began to develop. Clayton’s residents adapted to this change and shifted to a more service/trades-
oriented economy. Today, manufacturing companies like Caterpillar and biopharmaceutical companies like Grifols and Novo Nordisk employ a large amount of the local workforce.

Willow Spring

The unincorporated community of Willow Spring is located in the southeastern area of Wake County and the western region of Johnston County. The area contains natural swamp and marshland that surround Black Creek.

The National Register of Historic Places has the Turner and Amelia Smith House as well as the Frank and Mary Smith House listed.

Renaissance Dental Center Proudly  also Services the following areas: